Skip to main content
#
 

Martin HD-35 - Rate and Review

Martin HD-35 Reviews
Name: Skip Nicholson
Date: 12-2-2012
Review: Martin HD 35
Rating you give the Martin HD35: 5 - Best thing I ever played

Likes: I have owned my HD-35 for 20 years. I have played it on tour and found perfect for my needs. Loud and clear tone.

Dislikes: There is nothing about this guitar that I dislike. It has a deep, resonant tone but the treble range rings like a bell. I love everything about this guitar.

Additional Comments: Martin Guitars tend to have a heavy bass. I like that, it's why I've owned four Martins. If you want a more "even" tone Look to a D18 or a Gibson.
 
Name: Stephen
Date: 6/17/12
Review: Martin HD35
Rating you give the Martin HD-35: 5 - Best thing I ever played

Likes: In general the HD35 has been my favorite sounding Martin for a long time. My HD35, in particular, did not disappoint. I love the sound of this guitar. It is the sound I hear in my head when I think of Martin.

Dislikes: Not a major complaint, but I should have had Maury do a custom set up. The action out of the box is a little high. This, of course, is easily remedied.

Additional Comments: The sound is big with very strong bass. If that appeals to you, as it does to me, then this is guitar is for you. If you prefer a sound that is a bit more corralled, then the 28 might be more to your liking. As for me, I love the slightly unruly character of the tone of the HD 35.
 
Name or Forum username: bhbaum
Date: 3-6-12
Review: Martin HD-35
Rating you give the Martin HD35: 5 - Best thing I ever played

Likes: Full, dynamic range of tone. It retains the boom of the D-35 with that classic mid tone of a Martin, but with the scalloped bracing there is a brightness and a punch that mixes perfectly with all the other tones. Exceptional guitar! Beautiful herringbone trim, and three-piece back are gorgeous, and the action is easy on medium gauge strings.

Dislikes: IF you find something on this guitar you dislike, you're being waaaaaayyyyyy to picky. I have no complaints.

Additional Comments:
There are two things you look for when you are purchasing a new guitar: First, you want to buy the "right" guitar. Secondly, you want to find the "right" person to purchase it from. Listen, I'm no amateur. This was the first time I was going to be able to afford a "great" guitar and I was going to do it right. I wanted no regrets. I spent 8 months researching and testing several makes and models of guitars. I flip-flopped for about four months on guitars until I found this one. Here is a list of the guitars I tested:

Martin: D-28, D-35, HD-28, D-35MP, HD-16R Adirondack, M-36, M-38, Custom Shop CS35-11, HD-28MP, D-28 Marquis, D-41, 000-28EC Eric Clapton, D-42
Taylor: 314ce, 416ce, 614ce, 714ce, 814ce
Collings: D1, D1A, D1A Varnish
Gibson: Songwriter Deluxe Standard, 1980's Hummingbird

This list is only a list of the guitars I actually played. It does not include all the other ones that I reviewed or researched.

For the second point. I spoke to a handful of guitar dealerships and spoke with them about pricing and got a sense for their customer service. And although I don't feel it is fair to the business to list them here, I will say that Maury's Music beat all of them by great lengths in every area, service, price, answering questions, convenience, as well as a handful of other areas. Maury's will have my business in the future for sure and they made this purchasing experience even greater than it already was.

I am also leaving a review for the pickup system I had installed (K&K Pure Mini) and the preamp (LR Baggs Venue DI).

 
Name or Forum username: shayleen
Date: 01 02 2012
Review: Martin hd35
Rating you give the Martin HD-35: 2 - Did the job nothing special

Likes: Bright soundtrack

Dislikes: Too much bass and i had problems getting the sixth string just rightly

Additional Comments: Would not buy another
 
Forum username: gbmusart
Date: 1/7/10
Review: Martin HD-35
Rating you give the Martin HD-35: 2 - Did the job nothing special

Likes:  Tone wood on the top and sides is very good

Dislikes: Too bassy,not balanced across the strings sensitive top to temp and humidity and goes out of tune poor intonation

Additional Comments: My first one went back to the factory..it had the wrong radius fingerboard on it, the second replacement I had to fight to play.. quality control for a guitar that lists over 3k??
 
Forum username: gbmusart999
Date: 10/10/09
Review: Martin HD-35
Rating you give the Martin HD-35: 3 - Good product give it a try

Likes: sonorous round deep tone,great Martin customer service

Dislikes: shaved bracing makes it sensitive for tuning in different environments, overall intonation was not that great (went through two returns), needs a solid mahogany neck like they used to be, tends to be a stiff feel and harder to play than a Gibson in the same price range,also too bassy, lacks in the highs.. I got rid of mine after 5 months

Additional Comments: not your best deal in the price range (retail about $3500.00)
guitar lacks balance
 

Forum username: Bob6870
Date: 1/26/2009
Review: Martin HD35
Rating you give the Martin HD-35: 5 - Best thing I ever played

Likes: Wonderful warm, full sound, while still having clear mids and sparkling highs.  My HD35 responds to any style I want to play from folk to country, bluegrass and contemporary music.

Dislikes: None

Additional Comments: Very nice herringbone and the low profile neck is nice.

 
Name:  Nate Scott
Date:  04/10/08
Review:  HD-35
Rating you give the Martin HD35:  5 - Best thing I ever played

Likes:  This guitar really rings. Is a great guitar for country music or bluegrass.  I think the one quarter inch scalloped bracing makes a big differece in this guitar from others.

Dislikes:  Nothing to dislike.

Additional Comments:  I think this guitar is over looked big time.
 
Name:  owner
Date:  15/04/08
Review:  HD-35 Martin
Rating you give the Martin HD35:  5 - Best thing I ever played

Like about the Martin HD-35:  Love this guitar;it really rings.  The scalloped quarter inch bracing makes the difference in my opinion.  This guitar is not bass boomey at all.

Dislikes:  Nothing to dislike.

Additional Comments:  This guitar is over looked; a great guitar for country or bluegrass.
 
Rate the Martin HD-35
 5 - Best Martin I ever played
 4 - Highly recommend the Martin HD-35
 3 - Good Martin, give it a try
 2 - Did the job, nothing special
 1 - Save your money, forget the HD35


Sorry, this guitar is no longer available.

This guitar has been replaced with the Martin HD-35 (2018).

Sorry, this guitar is no longer available.

This guitar has been replaced with the Martin HD-35 Left-Handed (2018).

Sorry, this guitar is no longer available.

To view our current Martin guitar inventory, please use this link.  Martin guitars

    Social Media

    610-871-1673

    email usour twitterour facebook page pintrest youtubeinstagram

     

    Shopper Award